Arctic Change 2014

8-12 December - Ottawa Convention Centre - Ottawa, Canada

About Arctic Change 2014

The Arctic is undergoing a major transformation. Climate change and modernization are bringing important issues, including the health of Northerners, melting sea-ice, intercontinental shipping, sovereignty, resource exploitation, and the environment, to the forefront of national and international agendas. Circumpolar nations face an increased urgency to expand the observational capacity needed to formulate strategies and policies that will minimize the negative impacts and maximize the positive outcomes of this transformation.

Building on the success of its annual scientific meeting, the ArcticNet Network of Centres of Excellence and its national and international partners are excited to welcome the Arctic research community to Ottawa for the international Arctic Change 2014 conference to be held at the Ottawa Convention Centre from 8-12 December 2014.

Coinciding with the pinnacle of Canada’s Chairmanship of the Arctic Council, Arctic Change 2014 welcomes the participation of international researchers, students, policy and decision makers, representatives of government and non-government organizations, the private sector, northern stakeholders and media to address the global challenges and opportunities arising from climate change and modernization in the circum-Arctic. With over 1000 participants expected to attend, Arctic Change 2014 will be one of the largest trans-sectoral international Arctic research conferences ever held in Canada.

We look forward to welcoming you to Ottawa!

International Organizing Committee

Dr. Martin Fortier (Chair)
Executive Director, ArcticNet

Dr. Louis Fortier
Scientific Director, ArcticNet
Project leader, CCGS Amundsen

Dr. Jackie Grebmeier
Chair, Pacific Arctic Group
University of Maryland Center for Environmental Sciences

Dr. David Hik
International Arctic Science Committee (IASC)
University of Alberta

Dr. Margareta Johansson
Executive Director, INTERACT
Lund University

Dr. Sung-Ho Kang
Korea Polar Research Institute (KOPRI)
South Korea

Dr. Hugues Lantuit
International Permafrost Association (IPA)
Professor, Alfred Wegener Institute

Dr. Joan Nymand Larsen
International Arctic Social Sciences Association (IASSA)
Stefansson Arctic Institute

Dr. Lars-Otto Reiersen
Executive Secretary, Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme (AMAP)

Dr. Denis-Didier Rousseau
Scientific Director, French Arctic Initiative

Dr. David Scott
Executive Director, Canadian Polar Commission

Mr. Duane Smith
President and Vice-Chair, Inuit Circumpolar Council (Canada)